Must Have

I love light.  There really isn’t any other way to describe it.  I love blown out, super intense sunlight.  A lot of people have asked me how I can shoot into the sun the way I do and honestly, I don’t know, I just do it.  It is how I see the world I guess.

I think once you get to a certain point in your career you want to take more chances.  It isn’t about getting the must have shot, it become getting the shot you must have.  This is what I seek now on every shoot, during every session and every time I pick up my camera.  I love that split second where you have an opportunity to capture the light just as it wraps around your subject.

Salton Sea

It doesn’t matter if it is a landscape or a person, film or digital camera.  I love doing it and while it always looks similar, it never quite looks the same.  Working with living beings and a moving sun on a spinning planet is part of the equation and these are all the variables as well.  Anything and everything can change.  The way the clouds are in the sky, what your subject is wearing or how they decide to move, or even the wind blowing the hair a certain way.  All of this goes into an image.

Jessica

Or if you’re photographing a tree you never know how the branches will move or if it is a dead tree how or when one branch will fall.  This is just one more thing I love about photography.  You can practice all the time, and you may not always get the shot.  But when you do get the shot, you will suddenly want to do it over and over again!

Leave a Reply

