Feeling Right

One thing I have really wanted to focus on with my work these days is only doing work which feels right, feels good and is something I am proud to show.  This doesn’t mean I am not proud of my older work, I am actually very proud of most all of my older work.  But the industry has been changing and I have to change with it, or away from it.

Working in the fashion industry I always had to kind of go with the flow of what was happening, and now with a lot of new magazines I just don’t like what is happening.  I don’t want to go into what I don’t like about it, that focuses too much on the negativity.  So instead I want to push forward into doing portraits, more unique weddings, environmental portraits and showcasing the world how I see things.

This past weekend was a great example of this.  I photographed my wedding clients for what would normally be called an engagement session, but it was actually environmental portraits of the two of them in their home.  I loved this session.  I have done other sessions like this in the past and I really feel as though this is a direction I need to pursue even more!

Steve and Michael

I also had the pleasure of photographing a young woman who is getting back into modeling.  I drove out to Temecula to work with her.  She had this great energy about her.  I hope I get to work with her again.  Great positive vibes!

Kaylee

This year is the year I don’t take jobs just for the money.  This year I am really focusing on content and people who get what it is I am trying to do.  So far so good!  A week ago my good friend Roarie came over and we created some amazing images together.  I am seriously happy with everything that has happened so far this year, granted we are only a couple of weeks into 2017, but I have been planning this switch over for a long time and I am so happy to have been able to set it all into motion.

Roarie

I also just booked another wedding today, have another meeting later for yet another wedding and who knows what else may happen today.  I’m just enjoying these moments and feeling good about everything.  Which I think is what we all strive for.  Today has already started out as a very good day.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lovely post. I feel exactly the same at the moment so I know where you are coming from. Good luck and look forward to your future posts 😊

Leave a Reply

